Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

April 18, 2024 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday April 18, 2024 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Loras Schulte, Norway, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Jen Zahradnik, County, Nancy Jensen, County, Tracy Seeman, County, Terry Hertle, County, Mike Seeck, County, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Lyle Morrow, Belle Plaine and Amy Boddicker, County.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Hertle to approve the March 21, 2024 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Seeck, seconded by Hertle to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included dirt hauling, equipment repairs and DNR Inspection. Motion made by Hertle, seconded by Cross to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included Environmental Education programs, Summer Reading Program, training and upcoming RFP for White Goods. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Cross to accept the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Seeck to approve Resolution 2024-04-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2024-04-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Jensen, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2024-04-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Morrow to approve a bid of \$9,675 from Terracon for well filling and drilling. All Ayes.

Discussion was held about capital account adjustments, long term vision of landfill and recycling.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Hertle to roll the CD at Atkins for twelve months. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Kaestner to move forward with a Health Insurance Buy Down through ISAC. Ayes: McNulty, Zahradnik, Kearns, Jensen, Boddicker, Cross, Seeck, Morrow, Hertle and Kaestner. Abstain: Seeman. Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn made by Zahradnik, seconded by Morrow. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:19 PM.

Chairperson		